Going for a Ride … to Freedom!

Horses, kids and people with special needs are ‘my thing’. It took me a while to find it. In fact it took a whole move from the Low Lands (Europe) to America and 20 years of professional limboing between PR, Advertising, Trade Promotion work and Independent Communications Coaching , but I am glad I found it.

Finding a golden medalist in the Paralympics somewhere tucked away in the corner of a Dutch newspaper (De Telegraaf) and without picture gives me the absolute creeps. After the ‘normal’ Olympics with Dutch medalists on the front page for days on end, a full page picture of the Paralypics medalist is an absolute must. These people should be respected for their achievements more than anyone.

Can you imagine a person in a wheelchair, giving it 200% to stand up and get on a horse to enjoy riding like you and me? I can. A very special student I am helping at the therapeutic riding lessons does it.

With a bit of help of all of us, children, people with special needs and others around us who need a little extra support, can do what we do.

I say, that is the REAL ride to freedom. And it is the ONLY ride to democracy!

