The Secret of Social Media Success by Target

I just shopped my groceries at Giant which I like, probably because of its Dutch roots of owner Ahold: it almost make me feel like shopping at home in The Netherlands, only much bigger.

Although, I am not so attracted to ‘like’ big food chains – or any big chain for that matter – on Facebook, but I was curious and checked out the three leading US food stores in my area on Facebook.

And the difference is huge: Giant has 40 likes and no active page, 2.207 likes and Target has 9.818.115 !!!! likes.

Of course, we all want to know the secret of their success!

I did not find much information on Target’s Social Media policy with a quick search on Google, but perhaps it has something to do with this: Target’s Community Outreach program. Target says it is on track of giving 1 billion dollars to support education by 2015.

Now, how much more social can one get?

It’s something one just has to like!

